Better Human Being Pancakes

We had a lovely stay-at-home holibobs last week, hence the comparative radio silence. My holiday diet is comprised 90% of cake, alternated between me shouting “I’m supporting businesses providing gluten free options” and “why aren’t I thin?” (“You are, darling,” Patriarch says dutifully, as I inhale my 400th slice). Now the hols is over, I feel like I should perhaps eat less cake and be healthier (therefore a better human being and worthier of love and esteem).*

Baby takes after mummy and grabs for some panettone

As you may have realised, I have recently discovered I like desiccated coconut. It’s included here to help perk up the old health food favourite, protein pancakes. With the banana and berries, this is two of your five a day.

Where Kent people store their doorbells

*if it wasn’t clear, this is sarcasm and human worth isn’t determined by physical appearance. I am simply planning to frustrate Mister Baby by delaying any inheritance for as long as possible 

SERVES 1

TIME 10 minutes

INGREDIENTS

1 banana

2 eggs

1 teaspoon of coconut oil 

1 tablespoon of desiccated coconut 

2 handfuls of berries

1 tablespoon of Greek yoghurt

RECIPE

Mash the banana in a bowl with a fork. Beat in the two eggs. 

Heat the coconut oil in a frying pan and once liquid, pour in the egg and banana batter. As the batter begins to cook, scatter in some blueberries and three quarters of the desiccated coconut.

Let the pancake cook quite thoroughly on one side first before trying to flip it over, otherwise you’ll have protein scramble. 

Once golden on both sides, serve topped with Greek yoghurt, more berries, and an extra sprinkle of coconut.

Tired out by all the holibob hijinks
Leave a Reply

