Plantain tacos & spicy salsa


Even by Mister Baby’s standards, the last few nights have been impressive. Every time I put him down, he starts to wake and grumble so that I have to pick him up before he cries and properly wakes himself. All night. Between 8 and midnight I got two fifteen minute periods where he slept once I had put him down. At 2.30, the Patriarch had him for half an hour but the Patriarch had been at work from 7am until 10.30pm so it wasn’t an option to pass him off for longer. Then I got a glorious hour and a half between 4.30 and 6, after which Patriarch took him for another hour. 

The upshot of several nights like this is that a) I’m tired; and b) attempts to make those hours in the night productive are… interesting. On Wednesday night I thought it would be useful to send Patriarch a long series of texts about London’s knife crime problem. Last night, in a stroke of genius, I thought I’d write this blog post with an anecdote about how in the morning I find nonsensical notes I’ve written to myself at 3am. 

This is how it came out:

Needless to say, this week has entailed ALL THE SUGAR in an attempt to keep going. Also, plantain tacos with salsa. 

TIME 1 hour

SERVES 4

INGREDIENTS 

SALSA 

1 punnet of cherry tomatoes 

1 red onion 

2 chillies 

2 cloves of garlic 

1 tablespoon of olive oil 

1 tablespoon of lime juice 

Half a teaspoon of salt

PLANTAIN TACOS

1 plantain

8 small soft tortillas 

3 sweet potatoes

Large handful of spinach 

1 tablespoon of olive oil

1 teaspoon of coconut oil 

TO SERVE

Pumpkin seeds, feta and Greek yoghurt

RECIPE

My mother got me a tortilla press for Christmas a few years ago so I made my own gluten free tortillas with masa harina and glee but if you don’t require gluten free, I would just buy them. Alternatively, follow the 1 cup masa harina, 2/3 cup water instructions on the packet to make 8 of your own. 

Dice the sweet potato into 2cm cubes and toss with the olive oil. Roast at 200 degrees for 30 minutes until browned and lightly crisped. 

While the sweet potato is in the oven, make the salsa. Quarter the cherry tomatoes, finely dice the onion and chillies, crush the garlic and mix together in a bowl with the olive oil, salt and lime juice. 

Peel the plantain and cut into finger sized chunks. Heat the coconut oil in a frying pan and then add the plantain. Fry over a low heat for 7-10 minutes, allowing it to caramelise and turn golden. 

Assemble the meal. Lay down two tacos per person, scatter the spinach, then the sweet potato. Top with the plantain and a generous spoonful of salsa. Serve with a handful of sunflower seeds and, for non-vegans, crumbled feta and Greek yoghurt. 

Mister Baby enjoys bookshops almost as much as his parents

3 thoughts on “Plantain tacos & spicy salsa

Leave a Reply

